Get healthy with me: How to stay fit on the road (Quick workouts, not only for on the road)

SAM_1712

It´s summer, finally! Who´s excited? ME!!!

For a lot of us, summer means travelling. Going to someplace awesome, just letting all your stress stay at home and seeing cool new places. Tell me in the comments where you´re going? Or did you already return from your travel? I want to know! For me, you guys will be getting pretty pictures from Italy soon!! I´m so looking forward!

Anyways, staying at some place cool also requires getting there. Depending on how far it´s away you´re going to need to sit for a while, whether it´s in a plane or train, on a bus or in your car. So sitting for 4 hours straight, whithout moving, is not that amusing (wow, that rimed!) and it´s not healthy either. Your bloodflow can´t go at it´s normal and for me, my butt always goes to sleep and that´s so uncomfortable when you can finally get up.

Let´s cut this short, it´s hard to stay fit on the road.

Not that hard.. I´ll show you some tricks and tiny workouts to get your heartrate going while travelling someplace!

First of all it´s very unusual to drive 4 hours straight whithout getting up once. You´ll need to go to the bathroom eventually. So there you have a bit time to move. Do some twist squats while you´re waiting for the red simbol “occupied” to go away, do a regular squat, really squeezing when you´re coming up, then twist to the right and to the left, just moving your upper body. So it´s a squat, twist twist, squat, …
To the bathroom and back do some walking lunges (nevermind those people looking at you like you´re crazy).

SAM_1701

When you´re sitting, squeeze your butt muscles together. Yes, you heard me right. While sitting. Or just do some wall, no I mean chair sits in your chair. Just pretend your seat is higher up and “sit down” there. Hold for 2 minutes. I know it´s hard. Think about how your body´ll thank you!

If you´re driving in a car or on a bus and you have a short break, use it! Here I have a few really quick workouts to get your hearbeat a little up. They´re all standing, so you only need a little bit of space and you won´t need to get your handy dirty. You can do as many sets as you like/or as you have the time for.

Workout 1:

35 jumping jacks
30 standing oblique twists Just stand there and twist your upper body side to side. Squeeze your butt muscles while you do this for a litte extra.
25 jumping lunges Do a lunge, then jump up and come down in a lunge on the other side. So you´re really just switching legs in the air.
30 squats
10 plié squats The same as the regular squat, just with your legs further apart and your body not bending forward when you come down

Workout 2:

40 high knees
20 standing oblique crunches on each side Just stand there and reach down on one side, come up and repeat on the other side, your hips in place and not moving.
20 squats
20 jumping squats

Workout 3:

40 butt kicks
20 leg up side crunches on each side Bring your hand up to the sky. Then lower it lifting your leg towars your arm at the same time. Lift your arm up, leg down, repeat.
30 jumping lunges
20 squats

Workout 4:

40 jumping squats
20 side lunges on each side
40 standing oblique twists

You can throw these in whenever you have a free minute and need a bit of movement.

Now some quick tips to incorporate not only when your travelling, but also when you´re sitting a lot in school or in your job

  • jog around your car
  • sprint a bit, just a few meters and you´ll feel your heart pumping
  • do 3 minutes of jumping jacks, too easy? I challenge you to do 4 minutes!
  • ALWAYS take the stairs when available
  • Squeeze your legs when taking stairs or run them up
  • Power walk whereever you need to go
  • Lay in a tiny jog when you have a minute
  • get off a bus/train station earlier and walk the way (this is a tip when you´re staying in a city, not when you´re on the road)

I hope this helped! If it did, please like down below, thanks! X
Also what posts do you want next? Any requests?

 

Posted by

Hey there beautiful people of the internet! I am a young student studying Biochemistry in Germany and blogging as I travel the world in my free time. I have a passion for all things travel, fitness, books and getting to know the lives of people from all over the world. I blog mostly about my travels, honestly and openly sharing my experiences. Sometimes I sprinkle a little bit of Fitness content in there as well, as I am also a certified personal trainer. So come join me in the ride that is this weird and crazy thing called life. I'm happy to have you here :) XO Little Sunshine

2 thoughts on “Get healthy with me: How to stay fit on the road (Quick workouts, not only for on the road)

Leave a comment